ENG-W vs IND-W, 2nd ODI: Why was Tammy Beaumont not given out obstructing the field during the second ODI?

ENG-W vs IND-W, 2nd ODI: Why was Tammy Beaumont not given out obstructing the field during the second ODI?


There was another moment of controversy during an encounter at Lord’s between England and India on Saturday when opener Tammy Beaumont was ruled not out for obstructing the field.

The incident took place during the fifth over of England’s chase of 144. Beaumont worked a delivery by Deepti Sharma into the leg-side, where it was fielded by Jemimah Rodrigues at mid-wicket. Beaumont, who had set off for a single, retreated into her crease and then appeared to kick out at Rodrigues’ attempt to hit the stumps at her end.

Rodrigues and wicketkeeper Richa Ghosh immediately appeared to remonstrate with the umpires over Beaumont’s kick out. On-field umpires Rob White and Anna Harris conferred and sent the matter to the TV umpire Jacqueline Williams to determine whether Beaumont should be given out for obstructing the field.

Williams observed the replays, and decided that Beaumont had made her ground and was not attempting to obstruct the field, ruling it not out.

The rule 37.1.1 of the playing conditions states that, “Either batter is out Obstructing the field if, except in the circumstances of clause 37.2, and while the ball is in play, she wilfully attempts to obstruct or distract the fielding side by word or action.”

The incident marks another controversial incident between the two sides in an ODI at Lord’s. The meeting between the pair in 2022 was marked by the infamous run out of England’s Charlie Dean at the non-striker’s end by Deepti Sharma to win the game for India.



Source link